Vices

20111021-201936.jpg
Watch yourself; it’s the little things that get you
Coffin nails for the bed you’re laying in; you
Know you’re caught when you just can’t get enough, and
This becomes the only thing you’re thinking of

These vices, they tighten
They suck out the life then
They break you and leave you
They lie and deceive you

These vices, they hold you
They push and control you
Erasing your reasons
To fight for your freedom

Take a breath–you’re going off the deep end
Faking death and living in the pretend
Puppet strings are pulling at the edges
In your mind you find you’re jumping off of ledges

These vices, they tighten
They suck out the life then
They break you and leave you
They lie and deceive you

These vices, they hold you
They push and control you
Erasing your reasons
To fight for your freedom

These vices, they choke you
They clamp on your throat, then
They squeeze out your dreams
And they feed on your hope

These vices, they eat you
They tear you and bleed you
Consuming your power
Until you’re devoured

18 responses to “Vices

  1. I own no vices…. They own me….Sloth I think is one which needs headbutting… Cold weather always makes me tired… I’m sure I must have been a hibernating animal in a previous life, as In Winter I snuggle down into the bedclothes and don’t want to come out ’til Spring. I took a detour I know…but loved this one…and my went on it’s own route, and who am I to stop it? πŸ˜‰ xPenx

  2. I like the depth and the awareness of all vices in this one Vampire Weather, striking words as each line casts a new visualisation within the psyche. Crushing imagery and all with a suggestion of the darker edges of humanity… How Ghoul, I mean how Cool πŸ™‚

    Androgoth

  3. I really enjoyed the sinuous and insinuating flow of these words – again, it’s in the rhythm and the lovely recurrance of the “eee” sounds which you can really feel when you say them aloud. Lovely. Made me look at how many wine bottles were in my recycling… πŸ˜‰

Express yourself

