Wonderful Mess

20111207-203839.jpg
We are all so perfect
So perfectly we’re flawed
Thoughts left unattended
Clothes left in the hall

We are all so tidy
So organized, we are
Emotions stuffed in boxes
In the backseat of our car

We are all so stable
Our feelings never stick
Honest, like a photo
Straight up like politics

We are all so certain
We speculate and guess
Twisted up together
We lose track of all the rest

We are so attentive
We can’t recall a thing
Scatterbrained and brilliant
Consistently insane

We are all so purposed
Accidentally in love
Our messes are wonderful
And we’re never cleaning up

47 responses to “Wonderful Mess

  1. “We are all so perfect
    So perfectly we’re flawed
    Thoughts left unattended
    Clothes left in the hall”

    I have told a man I love so many times, He is not perfect, but perfect for me.
    This sounds a lot like me lol. It is a great poem πŸ™‚

  2. “We are so attentive
    We can’t recall a thing
    Scatterbrained and brilliant
    Consistently insane”

    Incredible. Honestly, sometimes one just stumbles across beautiful lines you really wish you’d come up with yourself! A great poem, but this section was fantastic!

  3. Awesome writing as always. It could be read many times, spawning new thoughts each time. I’m thinking in how “we” are in general. Starting things, living things, believing in things, and then disappointed in things and see it as a mess. If there’s ever been someone that could say for 10 years “Wow! everything has been perfectly as planned and it still is!” I won’t believe them πŸ˜€

    Just wanted to share the thought. Especially as I’ve been slacking with comments recently. Just too busy lately, but always enjoying your work here man! I’ll even share this one on FB

    • Thank you, my friend. I understand being busy. I always feel like no matter how many comments I make I probably forgot someone who deserved some.

      Life is an adventure that sometimes engines finding rare treasure and sometimes is more like being chased by massive boulders and angry natives. At least, that’s an Indiana Jones analogy πŸ™‚

  4. “We are so perfect, so perfectly we’re flawed.” Once again, you just blew me away with your words. I think it’s our flaws that makes us perfect in our own way. Cause if we didn’t have flaws than there must be something wrong with us.

    • Your line made me smile. “if we didn’t have flaws then there must be something wrong with us” there is something ironically truthful about that. Thank you for visiting my realm and taking time to share your thoughts!

Express yourself

