Not The Fall

20111230-173650.jpg
The rain lands muted on tired cobbled stone
Repenting the sky
Doomed by its own mass
To plummet helplessly to the pavement below
“it isn’t the fall”, they tell me
“it’s the sudden stop that kills you”
And somehow I see myself as a raindrop
A tiny ball
Falling
With my stomach in knots
And my heart in my throat
But it isn’t the fall that hurts
It’s the sudden stop
The cobbled stone
Crashing head first into reality
Finding that the long descent is nothing
It’s the hard, hard world
Rising to meet me
That hurt the most
And falling might be
The best feeling of all
Except for the firm
Stone ignorance
Of an unsympathetically dry
Sidewalk

31 responses to “Not The Fall

  1. Using the moment-by-moment experiences of a falling drop of rain as an analogy to a lot of our “falls”–just masterful. I really enjoyed the way you carefully, lyrically followed the drop from cloud (repenting the sky–so perfect)to pavement moment by moment. You are so empathetic with so much of the universe. May light and love and laughter and refreshment and peace fill your 2012!

  2. Wow, VW. A stunning arrow of words that hits in the very centre of the soul. You have a way of capturing a rawness that captures the senses. Wonderful piece of poetry.

  3. “And somehow I see myself as a raindrop
    A tiny ball
    Falling
    With my stomach in knots
    And my heart in my throat
    But it isn’t the fall that hurts
    It’s the sudden stop
    The cobbled stone
    Crashing head first into reality…” that was my favorite part. ❤ An absolutely amazing piece filled with intense emotions.
    Your talent is like the sun, it shines brighter in every poem you write.

  4. It WOULD be the sudden stop that kills you. I really, really like that.

    Great words – a really great post, this one.

Express yourself

