Black Lake

20120203-000226.jpg
Still, like death
The lake awaits
Unbroken glassy surface
Like a mirror peering wickedly
Into a soulless sky

Swaths of mist
Arise and drift
In loosely woven curtains
Just beyond where earth and water meet
Across the silent tides

There beneath
In waters deep
Entombed upon the bottom
Lies a remnant otherworldly fleet
Forsaken by the earth

Biding still
Their time until
A winter swallows autumn
And the ripples wake this blackened lake
To lend their corpses birth

29 responses to “Black Lake

  1. I read this several times, the pictures in my mind from this remind me of something but I can’t quite fully remember what it is. Thank you for sharing πŸ™‚

  2. I could quote parts of this poem to tell you which bits I enjoy best and why but alas if I did, I would have to quote every part of the poem – this is gorgeous, what a pleasure to read! While I noticed that one of the tags you gave this piece was ‘horror’ and it is very apt, the first tag I would give it is ‘beauty’ because the way you craft such powerful imagery is nothing but spectacular and beautiful. Well done my friend!! πŸ™‚

  3. VW, this is without doubt the most purely beautiful and true-to-nature poem of yours I have read so far! Congratulations on this wonderful achievement. Also, I really appreciate the metaphor of people whose talents are waiting to come to life, just like the eggs laid at the bottom of this black lake. They are there, waiting, though we see them not.

  4. The wrecks of old lay beneath the wave,
    beckoning existence once more… The battle
    long since fought and the lives lost, beyond
    the sands of the sea shore…

    Wonderfully written my fine and wicked friend πŸ™‚

    Androgoth

  5. Listen sir, see what I mean?… hmm. I think the cryptic nature of your writing keeps us on our toes. Your literary skills are svelte, indeed πŸ™‚

  6. Really awesome images you’ve created here…there are so many things about this poem that I like…a true treasure:

    “The lake awaits
    Unbroken glassy surface
    Like a mirror peering wickedly
    Into a soulless sky

    Swaths of mist
    Arise and drift
    In loosely woven curtains…”

    Spectacular, VW, I’m usually not one to repeat someone’s work back to them but this one really sang to me and I wanted to show you which parts jumped out off the page…

Express yourself

