Of Those Who Were

20120310-002836.jpg
Walls–they tell of those who were
The visage, faded, once was clear
Oh where have you then disappeared?

Into the night? Across the sea?
Or do those jaded memories
Still haunt your halls, as they do me?

Foregone–the night so cleverly
With darkness swallows every tear
A soundless cry on soundless ears

But walls–they loath forgetfulness
And not as I do they so turn
Their stories are not fast unlearned

In somber unrelenting tones
A chorus of distress is sung
For spirits absent far too long

T’would be such bliss to quell their taunt
But as I seek I find you not
And feel at last I am forgot

55 responses to “Of Those Who Were

  1. Oh its sad the very soul of this poem…like a caged bird with clipped wings it cries out for that moment when light and air was hers to play with..
    you are some a wonderful poet VW.

  2. Heart wrenching….I felt the loss, the grief, and the love forlorn…..beautiful Vampire….
    I always love reading your words for they always inspire and amaze me….thank you.
    Celeste

  3. a soundless cry on soundless ears…..
    beautifully sad…amazing power of words….
    keep penning more with a true heart….it’s a masterpiece…..:)
    love and peace…

  4. Absolutely stunning. It feels haunted, eerie, sad. I can feel your words. I love:
    *T’would be such bliss to quell their taunt
    But as I seek I find you not
    And feel at last I am forgot*
    Beautifully haunting! You are amazing with words VampireW

      • IT’S THE HUMAN CONDITION TO FEEL AND EMPATHIZE …….
        WHEN WE EMPATHIZE – WE SEE WITH THE HEART AND SOUL – I FEEL -…………
        AND WE BECOME CLOSER TO UNDERSTANDING ONE ANOTHER ………
        I WAS THINKING ABOUT YOU TODAY —- FOUND SOUNDCLOUD – AND THOUGHT ABOUT YOUR MUSIC – MUSIC IS A WONDERFUL OUTLET – AS YOU KNOW —- TO LET IT ALL OUT ……. HERE IS THE LINK ……
        http://soundcloud.com/
        BEST ALWAYS XX C

      • THAT’S SO COOL 🙂 CAN’T WAIT TO HEAR 🙂 AREN’T PEOPLE SUPPOSED TO ENCOURAGE ONE ANOTHER 🙂 SMILES – HAVE A BRIGHT BRIGHT SUNDAY 🙂 I TOTALLY FORGOT ABOUT DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME – LOL – ! BEST TO YOU ALWAYS 🙂

      • NOPE ! JUST WOKE UP AND THOUGHT IT WAS LUNCH TIME IT WAS SO BRIGHT OUT 🙂 LOL 🙂
        GORGEOUS DAY IN TORONTO —– IT’S SUPPOSED TO BE 20C BY THURSDAY – GETTING THE FLIP FLOPS OUT RIGHT NOW —– 🙂
        A BEAUTIFUL WEEK TO YOU XO

  5. The craft in this poem is very well done. The mood, as the comments above attest, is set powerfully in the first stanza. Then each stanza builds to the final stanza where the personal tragedy becomes fully realized.
    The almost rhymes really work well as well as repetitive lines like:

    A soundless cry on soundless ears.

    I think you can be proud of this effort even though it might have been difficult to write and more difficult to publish perhaps.

    The question, where have you then disappeared? holds special power in my life. It’s a question that strikes me suddenly on different days. Sometimes it is gone for awhile, but then it comes back with renewed force. This first stanza drew me to the poem and the last stanza sealed its power for me.

  6. VW, such a very strong and poignant and ringing poem to describe how one is left “forgot” when viewing posts on memorial walls honoring those long gone, long missed, long ached for!

    • I suppose “forgotten” could fall into the idea of someone who once took time to be with you often and make their presence known gradually fading away into obscurity, but perhaps nothing is truly forgotten and all is recorded somewhere for eternity 🙂

  7. I wonder sometimes how someone elses words are actually how I feel….

    Haunting words my Friend….whispered with such clarity

    )0(
    maryrose

Express yourself

