Wake Up Screaming

20111014-014910.jpg
It’s been too long
Too much on my mind
I don’t recall myself at all
It went so wrong
Too much undefined
Before the last of me dissolved

Asleep
I thought that it was real
I thought that this was life
But I must have been dreaming

I keep
Noticing the threads
Starting to unwind
Someday I will wake up screaming

It’s cut too deep
Too close to the heart
I feel I’m slipping down a hole
What I can’t speak
Is tearing me apart
And I’m afraid that if I go…

To sleep
I’ll think that it was real
I’ll think that this was life
But I must have been dreaming

I keep
Noticing the threads
Starting to unwind
Someday I will wake up screaming

Somebody please
Won’t you pinch me and wake me
Something in dreams
Is attempting to take me
I once believed
All I needed was right there
I want to live
But I’m living a nightmare

Oh, sleep
I thought that you were real
I thought that I was right
But I must have been dreaming

I keep
Tossing in my bed
About to lose my mind
One day I will wake up screaming

12 responses to “Wake Up Screaming

  1. Your poems are torture to read but in a good way, sometimes I feel just as you describe… in truth I think we all go there at some point ..I have woken up screaming . Fear not when you do you can move on! You write such intense and beautiful poetry thank you for sharing. xx

    • For the first time in my life I am not afraid of nightmares. Things I once considered frightful seem like an entertaining distraction compared to reality. Thank you for your kind words 🙂

  2. I think you must have borrowed my mind when you wrote this. I was thinking something like this just before I read it.

  3. Painful and scary… sometimes the dream seems so real, that even when you kow you’re finally awake you question yourself, ‘am I awake or do I still dream?’ …. and I have woken screaming, or trying to… my vocal cords won’t allow me….and my limbs are frozen, … but my heart… it beats like a wild thing trying to escape… I think my brain knows just the right things to torture me with… xPenx

Express yourself

