The Greatest Advantage Of Formal Attire Is The Ability To Conceal Heavy Weaponry

20120125-141225.jpg
Tip the hat
But we can see behind your back
Where you are brandishing your sword
To strike the tragic little masochistic amorists

And in fact
I slipped a tray beneath my slacks
In case you had a sudden urge
To take a shot across this heavy sided playing field

But we are not the petty little thieves
Stealing hearts and leaving roses in their places
We are calibrating spaces

No, we are not the foolish ones, it seems
Waging wars and leaving cratered devastation
Like some morbid recreation

Take a bow
But are they clapping for you now
It seems the crowd has turned around
To read the teleprompter leaking through the velveteen

Faking out
The loyal masses with their doubts
Is getting harder with so
Many who believe in sewing hearts upon their sleeves

But we are not the decorated whores
Selling beauty in the dens of conversation
We are tracing desperation

Oh, we are not the serpentine parade
With our tongues around the fruit of policy
We are the uninvited free

49 responses to “The Greatest Advantage Of Formal Attire Is The Ability To Conceal Heavy Weaponry

  1. So well told! And despite their superficially well concealed weaponry, perhaps what packs a bigger punch is the sharp and therefore acid tongue of univited yet very present, honesty…Wonderful work, friend! 🙂

  2. So much hidden meaning here, silken words hiding covering poisonous out pourings I am one of the uninvited free watching in horror as the fat cats and the politicians steal each others money!! Great great poetry!!

  3. Interesting, thought was this literal or metaphorical? Metaphorically, I always have a pair of long knives at my hips and a bow in my hands. Literally, I keep a sharpened pencil behind my ear and some scratch paper in my pocket.
    The men brandish weapons too, you know
    Andrea

  4. Woweee!!!! Again, such amazing word phrasing and imagery:

    But we are not the petty little thieves
    Stealing hearts and leaving roses in their places
    We are calibrating spaces

    and

    It seems the crowd has turned around
    To read the teleprompter leaking through the velveteen

    Those are just two stunning examples that blow me away. It leaves me nearly speechless….

    And all in perfect meter too. How do you do it??

  5. Many of these comments have me smiling! Your poem, though, is utterly powerful and your language, captivating! I’m having a “wish I woulda written that” moment. But, then, I usually have these after reading your wonderful writing, VW!

  6. …resounding applause to this piece of work!!!! I’m just stepping in from church and couldn’t wait to read it again and to add my little bit of commendation 😀 I read it several times as your work always has such insight and depth that keeps the thoughts active. Like I will continue to say… sheer genius!

  7. I really liked this one. It was so serious yet made me smile as I played put the scene in like 007 style in my head with a twist of yogi bear. Lol silly but true. I wish I could pen down thoughts the way you do 🙂

    • Oh it’s easy really…first you have to have really ridiculous, disturbing, cynical, and odd imagery running through your mind…then you just write it. No training necessary. Thank you 🙂

  8. oh my! oh my! wow, this is very strong piece with sooo many message speaks behind the lines, I love how you brought out the issue ….. The Greatest Advantage Of Formal Attire Is The Ability To Conceal Heavy Weaponry ….

  9. I go with the politician symbol here…and if I am correct…I join you with that pan in my pants which can be used to knock someone aside the head if need be.

  10. I am attentive and keep a spoon… figure it’d hurt more.
    I am too kind with my words… but intelligent. Need to work on the quick wit and intelligence together.

    Fabulous poem!

  11. the sharpest thing a female should have hidden only to come out when ill done by is her tongue lol and maybe a rounders bat down her leggings loved the poem xxjen

Express yourself

