Snowcovered

20111026-094330.jpg
Wrap me in your cloak
Beneath the white of your caress
A welcomed blessing left upon me
From a vampire weather sky
Soft redemption on the colors
Muted out beneath your covers
We are winter wonderlovers
If you fall, then so will I

Overtake the sleepers
Unsuspecting in their beds
Pronounce a silent revolution
On the surface of our world
Bestow the gifts preserved in vapor
Like a cold and gentle savior
For obscuring our behavior
Under blankets where we curl

Firelight and frost
Can flirt obsessively on glass
Just out of reach of each the other
Like a pair of star-crossed dreams
And we can lie beneath the thinking
We are children bent for breaking
With our seasons ever changing
And these stains upon our wings

Take me in your arms
And sprinkle kisses in my hair
I taste the melted drops of summer
Stored and frozen on your lips
If there are better ways to cleanse us
If the shadows can’t defend us
Make us blank beneath your canvas
Keep us safe in all of this

26 responses to “Snowcovered

  1. Like a pair of star-crossed dreams
    And we can lie beneath the thinking
    We are children bent for breaking
    With seasons ever changing
    And these stains upon our wings

    Take me in your arms
    And sprinkle kisses in my hair
    I taste the melted drops of summer
    Stored and frozen on your lips
    If there are better ways to cleanse us
    If the shadows can’t defend us
    Make us blank beneath your canvas

    Beautiful!! Simply beautiful.

  2. Mokawk snowmen
    Snowball fights
    The blankets we wrapped up in
    On cold winter nights

    Best of company
    Fireside
    Sleeping comfy
    Side by side

    Holding hands
    ‘neath frosty glove
    Learning to understand
    While snow falls from above

    Blue eyes searching
    In the white of the season
    In the wind, the snow twirling
    Love because there’s no need for more reason

    Walks in the park
    Lovers hush
    Driving in the vampire dark
    Through the icy slush

    City lights on winter nights
    And days of lazy grey
    Love in winter is better in white
    Take me the long way

    • Oh, I am not at all to be envied. My writing is so random and uneducated…I really know nothing about poetry. I’m sure I break plenty of rules and I wouldn’t know how to hold an intelligent conversation on the topic. I just enjoy art and expression 🙂 Thank you for the very kind words Debbie!

      • And your art is better off for it, Vampireweather – you have a rare, natural talent which should continue to roam free – you are certainly one of the best poets that I have read in the Blogosphere

      • That is very kind of you to say, my friend. If by “roam free” you mean “continue to be uneducated about poetry” then I should be free for a while yet to come 😉 I love reading poetry because it is from people. As long as people are producing it, I’m sure I can find something beautiful in it. Poems to me possess a certain melodic quality that inspires me. Our capacity for imagination as humans is truly a gift we must never forsake. Thank you again for your encouragement. Since I have only recently begun allowing people to read my writing, it is always good to have my courage reinforced 🙂

  3. “Can flirt obsessively on glass
    Just out of reach of each the other”

    I can relate to this, somehow. Don’t ask how, i just know. 🙂

    Beautiful…I miss the snowy winters.

  4. Absolutely gorgeous! You have done it again VW! Sprinkle kisses in my hair, it makes me think everyone would want romance like this.

  5. Such a beautiful night
    Snowflakes are falling
    In front of the streetlight

    Such perfect weather
    You know that I’m stalling
    Bound by invisible tether

    Such a warm embrace
    You keep tears from falling
    As you sweetly kiss my face

    Such an intense gaze
    To say you’ll miss me darling
    I could stand like this for days

    Melting snowflakes turn to tears
    Down my cheek slowly falling
    Feel I won’t see your blue eyes for years

    • A face? A hand? A touch? A sound?
      Are these the things which make us “real”?
      Encased in flesh, but spirit bound
      I drift beyond this human cell
      A thing may be unseen, but true
      A soul may be unknown, but felt
      A love may seem too far for you
      But last long past when snow may melt
      For love is far beyond what lies
      Within the hand or near the skin
      It is not always seen with eyes
      For sometimes it must live within
      The deepest part of who we are
      When all else seems to fade or die
      A love cannot be torn apart
      So neither then are you and I
      Days may roll to months and years
      And still the time is powerless
      To heal the burning of our tears
      Or steal the loves that we confess
      Retain that warmth within your chest
      And do not fear for life or time
      The heavens know we do our best
      And they preserve that love divine

  6. beautiful and quite calming. true this is one of your better poems from those i’ve read. this is november and autumn is finally gone. winter darkens skies and covers in one shade of white our colors. but in the difference you found beauty.
    lovely work

Express yourself